2013 L2G Volunteer “Justin Holt” (USA)

by Justin Holt, USA

“Arriving I didn’t know what to expect of the experience and while it was not perfect. I could honestly say that the people there are the most amazing and generous individuals I have ever met.

DSC02158

My name is Justin Holt and I was given the chance to volunteer at Ban Thung Sawang School in the Siratan sub-district. Arriving I didn’t know what to expect of the experience and while it was not perfect I could honestly say that the people there are the most amazing and generous individuals I have ever met.

DSC08984

My host family was very fun and generous and made me feel more than welcomed into their home despite me being a complete stranger and their existing a very obvious language barrier. I didn’t have transportation while there but lived within walking distance of the school and would always have access to a ride if I needed one. (later on one of the school teachers even lent me one of her bicycles to use while there)

On the weekends Teacher Pu (school English teacher) and my host family would always include me in going to the market or whatever the weekend activities were. The children at the school are like school children anywhere else, not perfect. They are respectful, have a big heart and are eager to learn if you make the material engaging.

DSC09001

The school does not have pre-made lesson plans for you so I would recommend having a rough idea of what things you may teach after the first day of teaching. The school staff was always eager to make you feel welcomed and share part of their lives with you. Each day I would teach about four classes and on my lunch break eat with lunch with the school staff who was amazing cooks and so nice as to make me special dishes of food, they even prepared a little surprise dinner on my birthday with my host family.

DSCN0773

My only real regret was I wish I was able to learn Isan quicker. I would have loved to been able to engage the thai people more in their own language while in their country.

DSCN0744

Leave a comment